Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4
George Bouton Letter to Mollie Bouton
Collection
Identifier: SC 00617
Scope and Contents
Letter from Captain George Bouton to his seven-year-old daughter Mollie from Yorktown, Virginia during the American Civil War. He describes the condition of Yorktown as "an old and dilapidated town", General Daniel Harvey Hill as a commander, describing some of the local families in Yorktown including the Fry family, and having a "free Negro from Madison County for a servant, a very indifferent cook & indifferent servant [in] everyday."
Dates:
1861 July 21
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Civil War Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C76
Scope and Contents
The Civil War Collection is an artificial collection of material, chiefly 1861-1865, pertaining to the American Civil War including items from both Union and Confederate forces. The collection includes official correspondence, general and special orders, descriptions of campaigns and battles, articles concerning the war, and artifacts. There are pardons, poems, songs, autographs, maps, muster rolls, pen and ink sketches of camp life, engineers' drawings, and a memorandum of signals used by...
Dates:
1856-1940
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Charles H. Dimmock Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 D59
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1826-1872, of Charles Dimmock and Charles Henry Dimmock. Includes sketch of the life of Charles H. Dimmock; a manuscript volume containing a journal of a voyage from Norfolk to Madeira and farm journal of "Shabby Hall," Gloucester County, Va.; travel diary, 1826, of Charles Dimmock concerning travels in Venice and Germany; and papers concerning the service of Charles Henry Dimmock in the engineer's corps in the Confederate Army, some of which include work at Yorktown, Va. and having...
Dates:
1826-1872
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Joseph Keith Newell Diary
Collection
Identifier: SC 00652
Scope and Contents
Diary, 19 March 1862 to 24 August 1862, of Joseph Keith Newell, a captain of the 10th Massachusetts Infantry during the Civil War. Diary runs from March to August of 1862, and describes the life of a Union soldier during the Peninsula Campaign. Describes his trip down the Potomac River from Washington, D.C., to Hampton, Virginia. Also includes a description of the Battle of Williamsburg, 5 May 1862, as well as his observations of the College of William & Mary. Newell also describes his...
Dates:
1862
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center